Geo-Location with Actionscript 3

Posted: November 13, 2010 by Robyn Denise in Geo-Caching, New Technology, Updates

One of the main aspect’s of our game is to allow the players to find set (or possibly randomized) items throughout the playing field.  These items will increase armor, restore health or even allow them to use a specific weapon against the ‘zombies’.  To do this, we needed to work on some code that would allow us to use geolocation (longitude and latitude) to set these items. And who do you think volunteered for this task? That’s right, the one with no programming background at all… me! I love a challenge.

Geolocation Screenshot

You are here... so are your braaaaiiiiinnnnssss!

It wasn’t an easy task but I was able to find some tutorials and information to get this done, or at least start it.   Sites like Republic of Code is a great site when you are starting out.  They have tons of tutorials and tips.  I found one for geolocation here which helped me a lot to understand what exactly needed to be done.

Here’s hoping I can get it working.

~R~

Leave a comment